11+ Exams, SATS, GCSE, AS & A2
Science, Biology, Chemistry, Physics
Maths & English
AQA, Edexcel, OCR
contact us

New GCSE grading system

The new 9 to 1 grading system for GCSE. I have had many parents ask me about how it works and what the grades mean. I always suggest that assume a grade 6 is a high B grade (on the old system). This means that:

5 = low B/high C grade
4 = is a pass, so a low C

Although, this may not strictly be true, it is a good starting point in order to try to understand the new system. For the 7, 8 and 9 grades, it is always best to try to understand that the two top grades are equivalent to a A* and A** respectively.

9 = A**
8= A*
7 = A

Essentially, the new grades are set up to give a clearer understanding of where a student lies in the older system - in theory it should give employers and educational institutions a better idea of the achievements of each pupil. the percentage of pupils representing each grade will still be calculated in the same way, just that each grade will be split further into different bands.

Below is a link to an explanation by Pearsons and a diagram by Pearsons which shows how the grade sytem works againt the old sytem.


Pearsons GCSE grade new system.png
Professional tutors~ student advancement 

    Penny Park Lane, Whitmore Park, Coventry, CV6 2GU
    Finham Park School, Green Lane, CV3 6EH
  •       SESSIONS

  •         Saturday
    : 10:00AM – 12:00PM

  •           Tuesday: 5:30PM - 7:30PM

  •           Wednesday: 5:30PM - 7:30PM

Contact US
Your enquiry is important to us, you can expect a response within twenty-four hours.
Tel: 07828 577878
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-139386027-1');